Monthly Archives: March 2013

The Mountain Between Us by Charles Martin

jacketCAF9XH41 $14.00, 336 pages, Christian Fiction

A plane crash forces strangers Ben and Ashley to work together to save their lives.

Author’s Website

Reviews:

The Examiner

Book Reporter

A snowstorm cancels many outgoing commercial planes in the Salt Lake City area.  Dr. Ben Payne charters a small single-engine plane in an attempt to quickly get home.  He befriends Ashley in the airport terminal and invites her to hop a ride with him as she is desperate to get home for her wedding festivities.  The plane crashes and an incredible story of survival unfolds as relationships are questioned and lives are at stake.

I love a good survival story and was not disappointed in this book from Charles Martin.  I especially enjoyed the dynamics between Ashley and Ben and how they worked together to overcome insurmountable odds.  A tad far-fetched, the ending developed with a bit of a twist.

Appeal Factors: Fast-Paced, Plot-Driven,  Suspenseful

According to Novelist, read-alikes for this book include: Broken Wings by Terri Blackstock, The Note by Angela Hunt and The Princess by Lori Wick (accessed May 4, 2013).

Book Reading Guide

I chose this book after it was recommend by a close friend.  She loved the story and thought I would, as well.  A fan of Christian fiction, I welcomed the opportunity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Fiction

Mice by Gordon Reece

41t4142W7zL $24.95, 336 pages, Mystery-Fiction

Shelly and her mom seek privacy after a bullying incident…and yet, they are attacked once again.

Author’s Website

Reviews:

Kirkus Reviews

The New Yorker

After being horrifically bullied by classmates, Shelley and her mom begin a new life in the countryside.  The parents divorce, Shelley is left with deep scars, and the teenager and her mom start life anew.  Homeschooled and with a simple routine, Shelley’s new life seems both protected and secure….until she and her mom are visited by a stranger one night.  What unfolds is a suspenseful story of fear, horror and working to protect the ones you love.

I really enjoyed this book and was quite surprised.  I have never been drawn to stories about bullying as I find it despicable how mean kids can be to one another.  And yet, I was drawn to Shelley and found myself rooting for her, her mother and their new life together.

Appeal Factors: Character-Driven, Issue-Oriented, Suspenseful

According to Novelist, read-alikes for this book include: Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson, Godless by Pete Hautman and Bystander by James Preller (accessed May 4, 2013).

Reading Guide

I selected this book after I saw it on our library district’s website.  I was intrigued by the suspense and mystery angle.  Having never heard of the author, I was curious to try something new.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mystery- Fiction

Love Anthony by Lisa Genova

51-TsC7KuxL $26.00, 320 pages, Women’s Fiction- Medical

Two women befriend one another and learn their paths were meant to cross.

Author’s Website

Reviews:

USA Today

Book Reporter

When Beth and Olivia meet by accident and befriend one another, they discover that their relationship was meant to be.  Olivia has found her way to Nantucket after the loss of her son and when her marriage is on the fritz.  Olivia is rediscovering her love for writing after she leaves her unfaithful husband behind.  When a character in Olivia’s manuscript embodies the son Beth lost, the connection becomes very real for them both.

I found this story a bit far-fetched and as a result, I was somewhat disappointed in this latest from Lisa Genova.  I cannot fathom the pain and grief that must accompany the loss of a child.  I felt such emotion for Beth and I rallied for Olivia as she left her cheating husband.  And yet, the means by which the two ultimately connected was just a bit too coincidental for me to believe.

Appeal Factors: Character-driven, Sobering, Bittersweet

According to Novelist, read-alikes for this book include: Until the Real Thing Comes Along by Elizabeth Berg, Lost in the Forest by Sue Miller and Cage of Stars by Jacquelyn Mitchard  (accessed May 4, 2013).

Reading Guide

I chose this book as I have read another book by author Lisa Genova.  I was excited to see a new title being released by her and promptly placed my name on the hold list at my library.

Leave a comment

Filed under Women's Fiction

Screwjack by Hunter S. Thompson

jacket$15.00, 64 pages, Short Story

Author Biography

Reviews:

Salon

Simon and Schuster

From Hunter S. Thompson comes this small book that contains three short stories.  The first is titled “Mescalito” and describes a wild night of drinking and use of mescaline for the first time in a hotel room.  The second is “Death of a Poet” and finds Thompson dealing with the death of a friend after he visits a trailer park complex.  The final story is titled “Screwjack” and is a wild ride through Thompson’s head and imagination.

Bizarre.  Truly the best way for me to describe this trio of stories.  I had heard Hunter S. Thompson’s writing was a little out there, however, this was my first experience.  I found the short stories very hard to follow.  I felt as though I was reading a short segment from Thompson’s own personal diary after a mescaline infueled drug encounter.

Appeal Factors: Melancholy, Offbeat, Violent

According to Novelist, read-alikes for this book include:  Hit Parade by Lawrence Block, Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King and Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri (accessed May 4, 2013).

Study Guide and Discussion Questions

I chose this book because I receive a plethora of requests for books by Hunter S. Thompson at the library where I work.  Ever curious, I thought it wise to begin my foray into Thompson’s works with something short.

Leave a comment

Filed under Short Stories Fiction

The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman

jacket $19.99, 240 pages, Graphic Novel

Author’s Website

Reviews:

Grovel

Book Drum

The goal of this graphic novel involves the attempt of a wizard to capture Death.  And yet, in the process, it is actually Dream (or Morpheus), who is captured.  Dream is the younger brother of Death.  The graphic novel is divided into a series of shorter chapters and stories in which characters often represent much more.  Morpheus travels throughout the graphic novel in an attempt to retrieve the items lost to him while he was away for some 70 years.  Multiple characters are introduced which will eventually create the need for additional volumes of the Sandman series.  Gaiman’s writing introduces elements of life and death, mythology and Biblical references, as well.

This graphic novel was very dark and disturbing to me.  I found the vignettes or short stories hard to follow and often filled with multiple meanings.  When not struggling with the text, I often turned to the visuals for guidance.  Perhaps if I read more of the volumes of the Sandman series, I would understand the storylines a bit more.

Appeal Factors: Character-driven, Gruesome, Moody

According to Novelist, read-alikes for this book include:  Y, the Last Man by Brian Vaughan, Black Hole by Charles Burns and Finder by Carla Speed McNeil (accessed May 4, 2013).

Sandman Series Summary

I read this book after it was selected as required reading and discussion for our Readers’ Advisory class.

Leave a comment

Filed under Graphic Novel

The Next Best Thing by Jennifer Weiner

51IdHczmJgL $26.99, 400 pages, Women’s Fiction

An aspiring TV producer takes on Hollywood with her 70-year-old grandmother in tow!

Author’s Website

Reviews:
Kirkus Review

USA Today

Ruth Saunders has endured enough pain for a lifetime.  She was raised by her grandmother after an accident claimed her parents and left her with facial scars and pain.  Saunders aspired to produce a television show and moves to Hollywood with her grandma to try to make it happen.  This story is one of perseverance, laughter, heartache and love.  Saunders finally gets her show, The Next Best Thing, picked up.  And yet the vision she had for her show does not mirror what is created by the studio.  Ruth’s life is suddenly filled with uncertainty both professionally and personally.

I really enjoyed this book and found myself rooting for Ruth, her grandma, the two Daves and other characters.  I was frustrated when Ruth was frustrated….smiling when Ruth was smiling and cheering for love when Ruth doubted it would ever find her!  I love Weiner’s writing style and her approach to relationships, love and life!  In my opinion, yet another chick lit winner from Weiner.

Novelist recommends the following read-alikes: Danielle Steel’s One Day at a Time, Susan Mallery’s Already Home and London is the Best City in America by Laura Dave (accessed March 4, 2012)

Book Discussion Questions

Appeal Factors: Heartwarming, Leisurely-Paced, Romantic

I chose this book because I fell in love with Weiner as an author when I read her first book, Good in Bed.  The story is endearing, the characters real and the plot quite often brings a smile to my face.

See what Jennifer is reading: Author’s personal blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Women's Fiction

The Shunning by Beverly Lewis

51oUfbkjM-L $14.99, 288 pages, Christian Fiction

An Amish woman learns life-altering news just before her wedding.

Author’s Website
Reviews:
Customer Reviews at Barnes and Noble
Amazon.com Customer Reviews

The story of a young woman growing up in an Amish Plain community in Pennsylvania.  The color of her hair is unique and sets her apart from her family and others.  She loves music but must deny this form of entertainment or make confession to her church.  While she is prepping for her marriage to the local Bishop, questions surface which make her doubt everything about her life.  Will she remain Plain, marry the widower Bishop and raise his 5 children or….be shunned?

I really enjoyed the story, characters and challenges faced by young Katie Lapp.  Always fascinated by the Amish lifestyle and community, I struggled with the limitations set forth.  So much was demanded and I empathized as Katie struggled with personal feelings, music and the rigorous structure.  The plot was somewhat predictable and slow in parts, however, Lewis’ story was endearing.
According to Novelist, read-alikes for this title include: Wanda Brunstetter’s A Sister’s Test, Who Do I Lean On? by Neta Jackson and Cindy Woodsmall’s The Hope of Refuge. (accessed March 5, 2013)

The Shunning was awarded the ECPA Gold Book Award (500,000 sold) in 2002 and the ECPA Platinum Book Award (1,000,000 sold) in 2008, according to BeverlyLewis.com (accessed March 5, 2013).

Appeal Factors: Inspirational, Homespun, Character-driven

The Shunning is the first in a trilogy. See the other books available by Beverly Lewis:
The Heritage of Lancaster County Series

I chose this book because I have enjoyed Christian fiction in the past. I had never read a selection by Beverly Lewis and regularly saw books by her.

Interesting Note: This book was made into a television movie for The Hallmark Channel: http://hallmarkchannel.com/theshunning

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Fiction