Category Archives: Women’s Fiction

Love Anthony by Lisa Genova

51-TsC7KuxL $26.00, 320 pages, Women’s Fiction- Medical

Two women befriend one another and learn their paths were meant to cross.

Author’s Website

Reviews:

USA Today

Book Reporter

When Beth and Olivia meet by accident and befriend one another, they discover that their relationship was meant to be.  Olivia has found her way to Nantucket after the loss of her son and when her marriage is on the fritz.  Olivia is rediscovering her love for writing after she leaves her unfaithful husband behind.  When a character in Olivia’s manuscript embodies the son Beth lost, the connection becomes very real for them both.

I found this story a bit far-fetched and as a result, I was somewhat disappointed in this latest from Lisa Genova.  I cannot fathom the pain and grief that must accompany the loss of a child.  I felt such emotion for Beth and I rallied for Olivia as she left her cheating husband.  And yet, the means by which the two ultimately connected was just a bit too coincidental for me to believe.

Appeal Factors: Character-driven, Sobering, Bittersweet

According to Novelist, read-alikes for this book include: Until the Real Thing Comes Along by Elizabeth Berg, Lost in the Forest by Sue Miller and Cage of Stars by Jacquelyn Mitchard  (accessed May 4, 2013).

Reading Guide

I chose this book as I have read another book by author Lisa Genova.  I was excited to see a new title being released by her and promptly placed my name on the hold list at my library.

Leave a comment

Filed under Women's Fiction

The Next Best Thing by Jennifer Weiner

51IdHczmJgL $26.99, 400 pages, Women’s Fiction

An aspiring TV producer takes on Hollywood with her 70-year-old grandmother in tow!

Author’s Website

Reviews:
Kirkus Review

USA Today

Ruth Saunders has endured enough pain for a lifetime.  She was raised by her grandmother after an accident claimed her parents and left her with facial scars and pain.  Saunders aspired to produce a television show and moves to Hollywood with her grandma to try to make it happen.  This story is one of perseverance, laughter, heartache and love.  Saunders finally gets her show, The Next Best Thing, picked up.  And yet the vision she had for her show does not mirror what is created by the studio.  Ruth’s life is suddenly filled with uncertainty both professionally and personally.

I really enjoyed this book and found myself rooting for Ruth, her grandma, the two Daves and other characters.  I was frustrated when Ruth was frustrated….smiling when Ruth was smiling and cheering for love when Ruth doubted it would ever find her!  I love Weiner’s writing style and her approach to relationships, love and life!  In my opinion, yet another chick lit winner from Weiner.

Novelist recommends the following read-alikes: Danielle Steel’s One Day at a Time, Susan Mallery’s Already Home and London is the Best City in America by Laura Dave (accessed March 4, 2012)

Book Discussion Questions

Appeal Factors: Heartwarming, Leisurely-Paced, Romantic

I chose this book because I fell in love with Weiner as an author when I read her first book, Good in Bed.  The story is endearing, the characters real and the plot quite often brings a smile to my face.

See what Jennifer is reading: Author’s personal blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Women's Fiction